June 16, 2021

SUBJECT: Statutory change affecting hazardous waste disposal fees in Oklahoma

Dear Hazardous Waste Disposal facility:

The Oklahoma state legislature recently passed (and the governor signed) changes to several statutes including the fee structure for disposal of hazardous waste in Oklahoma. That change was made to Title 27A O.S. 2011, Section 2-7-121-1-a, and increases the in-state per-ton disposal fee from \$9/ton to \$9.50/ton.

This change was part of our effort to modernize and streamline processes and remove duplicative requirements that burden generators while maintaining our mission of protecting human health and the environment. Specifically, the legislature removed the requirements for disposal plans and quarterly reports, including the associated fees. They increased the per-ton disposal fee to offset the revenue lost from removing disposal plans. The goal was to preserve, not increase, revenue used to manage the delegated hazardous waste program in Oklahoma.

If you have any questions, please contact the Land Protection Division, Hazardous Waste section at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Mike Edwards,

RCRA Compliance & Enforcement manager Land Protection Division Department of Environmental Quality <u>Mike.edwards@deq.ok.gov</u>; (405) 702-5226