DEQ and the Office of the Oklahoma Secretary of Energy and Environment Announce Funding for Electric Vehicle Charging Stations

For Immediate Release: July 7, 2020
Contact: Erin Hatfield, (405) 702-7119

The Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the Office of the Oklahoma Secretary of Energy and Environment are announcing a grant program funded by the Volkswagen Settlement Environmental Mitigation Trust aimed at building out Oklahoma’s light-duty electric vehicle (EV) charging stations. Applications will be accepted starting today, July 7, 2020, through September 8, 2020.

The ChargeOK Grant Program has approximately $1.1 million available for reimbursement grants on a competitive basis for the purchase, installation, and operation of publicly accessible EV charging stations throughout Oklahoma. Through this program, the State of Oklahoma seeks to add to the strategic network of charging stations to increase the use of EVs in place of gas-powered cars to mitigate harmful air emissions.

The ChargeOK Grant Program, with consideration for existing and planned investments of charging stations throughout Oklahoma, is offering incentives for additional projects based on 15 site locations chosen to fill in the EV charging network in Oklahoma. Only projects located within 10 miles of the locations listed below will be considered for the grant:

  1. Altus
  2. Alva
  3. Atoka
  4. Boise City
  5. Broken Bow
  6. Checotah
  7. Clinton
  8. Duncan
  9. Hennessey
  10. Hobart
  11. Laverne
  12. Okemah
  13. Perry
  14. Poteau
  15. Watonga

For a full description of program requirements and eligibility, please review the Grant Solicitation which can be found at To learn more about the ChargeOK Grant Program, please visit or email questions to