DEQ, ODOT and the Office of the Oklahoma Secretary of Energy and the Environment Announce Funding for Electric Vehicle Charging Stations

For Immediate Release: November 29, 2018
Contact: Erin Hatfield, Office: (405) 702-7119 Mobile: (405) 437-8468

The Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), along with the office of the Oklahoma Secretary of Energy and Environment (SOEE) and the Oklahoma Department of Transportation (ODOT), are pleased to announce a funding program aimed at building out Oklahoma’s light-duty electric vehicle (EV) charging stations.

“Seeing several of our state agencies collaborating on the expansion of electric vehicle infrastructure is an exciting time for the future of EVs in Oklahoma,” said Governor Mary Fallin. “Similar to my commitment to the state’s CNG initiative to promote cleaner burning vehicles, using these funds to develop electric vehicle infrastructure will be crucial to the future of the automobile, energy and utility industries in Oklahoma.” Secretary of Energy and Environment Michael Teague echoed Governor Fallin’s thought by stating, “Oklahoma has continued to be a leader in CNG vehicles and infrastructure. This program begins the next piece for alternative fuel vehicles and infrastructure for our state.”

For a full description of program requirements and eligibility, please review the Request for Proposal (RFP) which can be found at Applications for the program will be accepted from November 29, 2018 through March 1, 2019.

The ChargeOK Grant Program, funded by the Volkswagen State Environmental Trust, is offering approximately $3.1 million on a competitive basis for the purchase, installation, and operation of publicly accessible charging stations throughout Oklahoma. Through this program, the State of Oklahoma seeks to build a strategic network of electric vehicle charging stations to increase the use of EVs in place of gas- powered cars to mitigate harmful air emissions and reduce EV anxiety across Oklahoma.

“As more electric vehicles travel our roads, it’s important that the charging infrastructure be in place to support this new technology,” Secretary of Transportation and ODOT Executive Director Mike Patterson said. “ODOT is happy to help with this effort to bring more charging stations to Oklahoma’s highway corridors.”

Using this funding, DEQ will implement the ChargeOK Grant Program into the following two categories of projects:

  • Transportation Corridors – direct current fast charging (DCFC) projects on designated electric vehicle transportation corridors
  • Single Point Locations – DCFC/Level 2 zero emission vehicle supply equipment (ZEVSE) charging projects for single destination locations or locations that serve as a community charging hub

To find more information on the ChargeOK Grant Program, please visit or email questions to